Hello Liebster!

Woke up on Monday morning to find out that I’ve been nominated by apothecarytravels for a Liebster award – thank you! Osama runs a pretty fantastic travel blog at apothecarytravels.com and is currently travelling around South America, make sure you pay the blog a visit.

leibster-award

As the Liebster rules go, every nominated blogger needs to answers a set of questions given by the blogger who’s nominated her / him – so here goes…

1. What do you enjoy most about blogging?

Writing about my travels gives me a chance to put down my notes on places and experiences, to get inspired about what to do next and hopefully, also give a few people some inspiration with my travels.

2. What do you find to be the most difficult part of blogging?

Keeping up with a publishing schedule! I work pretty long days in a full-time job (11-12 hours feel long to me, at least) and I sometimes find it tough to make time to write and publish even when I want to.

3. What is your favorite part of the holiday season?

So, interestingly – I live in India and ‘holiday season’ for us is actually in October-November when Diwali, one of the biggest festivals here is. Christmas is also celebrated, of course; but Diwali definitely takes centrestage in our holiday calendars. I love the lights all around at Diwali time, the traditional, festive clothes that you only wear at celebrations and all the Indian sweets (mithai) that you can stuff yourself with, without feeling an ounce of guilt.

4. What is your least favorite part of the holiday season?

Since Diwali’s called the ‘Festival of Lights’ here in India, of late, it involves a heavy amount of fireworks and crackers – my least favourite part has to be the heavy pollution and smell of leftover gunpowder in the air the morning after.

5. What is the best blog post you have written?

Hmm, it’s still early days but WordPress tells me my most popular post yet is this –

The Hungry Vegetarian – 4 Countries where you can eat your (vegetarian) hearts out

6. What is your favorite holiday movie or special?

If it’s about Christmas, I’m reminded of Love Actually.

7. What is the last song you listened to?

‘Vertigo’ by U2

8. What is the last book you read?

I’m currently reading 1984 by George Orwell – I like how eerily similar it seems at times to present-day or past governments in different parts of the world.

9. What is the last place you traveled to?

My last holiday was to Europe this fall and the last country we visited was Italy.

10. What is your favourite place you have traveled to?

Hard to pick one without feeling like I’m being unfair – Ladakh in India (I’ve written a bunch of posts about it here) and the Norwegian Fjords.

11. What is your favourite quote?

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.”

Mark Twain, Mark Twain: The Innocents Abroad/Roughing It

And, by the rules – 11 random facts about me:

1. My favourite of all foods is Chocolate. In fact, this scares me a little.

2. I’m running a 10k race next Sunday.

3. I don’t learn to bake because I fear that cakes is all I would eat if I could.

4. I have terrible hand-eye coordination – never throw things at me to catch!

5. I lived in a small town called Pforzheim in Germany as an exchange student in 2008.

6. I can’t wait to plan my first trip to South America.

7. I have a mild case of OCD.

8. I hate driving.

9. I have an undergraduate degree in Engineering but I’ve been working in Finance for the last 6 years.

10. I’m a bit of a Grammar Nazi. (Don’t worry, it’s not as bad as it it sounds! Check this)

11. Related to #1 on this list – I’m slightly obsessed with this currently:

Sadly, not sold in India
Sadly, not sold in India

The blogs I’m nominating for this award are:

Once the Bug Bites

Om The Road

Both travel blogs are run by great writers who’ll take you to some conventional and some-not-so-conventional places.

‘Liebster Award’ rules for the Next Person:

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)
3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.
4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself.
5. Nominate 5 –11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have less than 1000 followers.
6. Create a new list of questions for the bloggers to answer.
7. List these rules in your post. Once you have written and published it, you then have to:
8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!).

And here are my questions for you:

1. What do you enjoy most about blogging?

2. What do you find to be the most difficult part of blogging?

3. What is the last place you traveled to?

4. What’s your favourite of the places you’ve been to?

5. Of the places you’ve been to, which would you say was the biggest ‘miss’?

6. What is your least favorite part of travelling?

7. Backpack or wheeled suitcase?

8. Solo travel or travel with company?

9. What is your favourite among the blog posts you have written?

10. What is the last song you listened to?

11. What is the last book you read?

And that’s a wrap. Happy Holidays, everyone!

5 thoughts on “Hello Liebster!”

  1. As one of your blog’s newest fans, I nominate you for a Liebster Award! Congratulations!

    The Liebster Award is all about recognizing new blogs and/or those with a small following, sharing the love…and a little bit about yourself. I love everything about the blogging community, so I was humbled and delighted to be nominated by a fellow blogger myself: https://theyear1886.wordpress.com/awards/liebster-award-2015/
    Congratulations again – I look forward to your future posts!

    Best wishes,
    Afrin

    Like

Share your thoughts

