My Earliest Travel Inspiration (probably)

Do you remember the first time you felt a strong urge to travel, learn about foreign people and cultures and go out and see the sights of the world?

My first (as I remember) moments of travel inspiration came from this:

Encyclopedias in my free time - yeah, I was a nerdy kid
Encyclopedias in my free time – yeah, I was a nerdy kid. ‘Safe, Homework-Helpful websites’ only, mind you. Photo courtesy: Dorling Kindersley

(It came without the internet edition and Barack Obama at that time, of course. You can still buy it on popular e-com sites by the way, but if you’re reading this, you’re probably too old for it yourself)

I can still picture my twelve-year old self sitting with this massive tome, poring over the sections on continents, countries, geography – trying to stuff as much as I could in my little brain. This was also the basis of my first travel bucket list that featured Machu Pichu, the La Sagrada Família, the Colosseum, the Stonehenge, the Easter Island statues, blue whales (I know, what’s that doing there). More than a decade and a half later, the list is still growing, of course.

What are your earliest memories of the travel bug? How old were you at the time and where did you want to go?

4 thoughts on “My Earliest Travel Inspiration (probably)”

  1. Coming from a multi-ethnic/multi-nationalities household travel was always in me. I don’t recall the first time I got on a plane or the second or even the third. I do remember the first time I travelled alone, I was 8 and I spent a full month abroad in Spain in a summer camp. As for your encyclopedia and wanting to go everywhere in it I used to love playing “Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego” and wanting to go everywhere she went!!

    Like

      1. I LOVED carmen San diego and I pity any kid that didn’t get to play her games! as for my trip to Spain age 8 it was really awesome and just a huge amount of luck!! The Spanish women’s right league (or smtg similar) offered a summer campo for 50 Chilean kids whose parents worked in places related to that. and somehow out of all of Chile the place where my mother worked was given the chance to send 3 kids and because of age restrictions ( the other mom’s had kids that were too young or too old)I was one of the elected!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

